Becoming an Adult

The world doesn’t exactly expect someone to become an adult automatically at 18 or 21. However, when I was growing up, my friends and I definitely expected to be independent adults when we turned 21.

Moving to Tallahassee without a plan is one of the most independent things I’ve ever done, but I’ve also asked for help more than I ever have before.

I’ve never asked for money from my mother. I’ve taken money when she’s offered, but I’ve never gone to her and asked. That was something I had to do. First with my utilities since I’ve moved, and then again when I needed to pay rent. Not having a job is definitely wearing on me.

Because of this I gave up my “Third vacation.” As you probably have read, I was planning a big triple vacation for the month of May. I had everything planned out, except for the money part. And when my monetary expectations took a turn for the worst, my best friend stood in and said he’d help me out. After going to the Bahamas, and then Universal and the Disney waterparks, I owed him close to a thousand dollars. There was no way I could do Memorial Day Weekend. I couldn’t afford it. However, I still had to get my car, so my friends drove my car up, and I drove them back. I got the rest of our stuff from the old house, and spent time with my mom.

It was hard to go out to the beach, and say hi to everyone while my friends unpacked their things. But I know I did the right thing.

I’ve been filling out applications like crazy and doing follow up calls. It’s really important I find a job soon, because I owe my best friend over a thousand now, and I now owe my mom close to a thousand. I also have a credit card maxed out. I need to be able to pay utilities as they crop up.

It’s stressful to be an adult.

Ayvul,

Brittany

Leave a Reply

